Sign in to follow this  

Rate this topic

Hi all I am a singer/songwriter musician who plays guitar, bass, ukulele etc and I go busking from time to time. sure i am in no way a professional at all.

I have just made a neat amp from a sub woofer which has a mod added to the circuit which bypasses the low frequency filter in the sub.  (for more info see Acoustic Amplifier where i got the idea i have the same 12v car sub at bottom of page) thsi amp can be powered by mains and battery and i intend to use it for busking. 

The amp sounds great especially for guitar/bass and my electric stompbox foot drum.  only problem is the microphone is not quite loud enough by itself.

into this amp i have a small portable microphone mixer pictured below. xl_88f830f7-03d8-4159-9fc8-d3581a74268a.

this just gives me 4 channels into the amp, with no effects, eq or boost. 

i need a boost for the microphone, a small battery powered pedal. it does not have to be an expensive unit. i am just wanting to see my options.

on another note I have seen many professional microphone pedals by tc helicon, boss etc many which are not battery powered. so not sure what i could use at all. initially just needing a boost to the mic i am not against looking at other battery powered mic effects pedals if they are good and give vocal effects too.

I am kind of on a Low budget so would love to know any low cost options first,

Thanks for taking the time to read and apply to this post.  

Wow cool! So this is like a pre amp. stomp box for your microphone? Can you plug XLR into it? Could you build a very simple reverb and delay into this system? Im assuming that it is analog, correct? I have a big interest in home made / boutique, analog vocal pedals... Tell me more!