Sign in to follow this  
Berabouman

Complete Beginner to Home Recording

Rate this topic

Hi all! I was thinking of doing some recordings to put on Youtube, but I am a complete novice to recording - all I have is a 10 dollar mic I picked up at my local hardware shop. Needless to say it doesn't exactly record very well.

What would I need to make a decent/semi-decent recording? I'm just doing this as a hobbyist so my budget is not much, perhaps in the 100-200 dollar range. A problem that I encounter with just using a mic is making sure I can record both the sound coming from my speakers and my voice as well.

Any advice would be appreciated! Thanks in advance!

If you are using a computer, here is what you do on such a limited budget. You will need something better than the 10 dollar mic. Trust me, been there, done that. 

(prices USD)

Best Buy; m-audio m-track 99 dollars + tax

They might even have an m-audio mic. You want the large diaphragm condenser. Spend another 15 dollars for xlr to xlr cable.

Software. Audacity is free. But you cannot mix effects levels in real time.

So, try Reaper. There is a free trial download. Or pay for the small use license of 60 dollars and you get updates every so often. It does everything all the other professional recording suites do. In fact, I have an old thread on Audacity and a newer thread on Reaper.

Follow Robert Lunte's link to get karaoke tracks for just about every song you can think of and you can customize the down load, for about 1 or 2 dollars. With or without background vocals, for instance.

Basically, you can get going for 200 dollars or less. But definitely step away from the 10 dollar mic.

To get Reaper, go to www.cockos.com.

And the newest version of Reaper, 5.0 and 5.2 now includes video synchro.

Thanks for your reply! A few questions though :