Does the flu and allergies affect the false folds?

Rate this topic

jonpall

I had the flu or a cold (some throat sickness) the other day and a bit of cat allergies. I guess my throat had some excess mucus or was swollen or something because I've been having a real hard time doing distortion with the false folds (by over-twanging). So I was wondering if having that type of sickness affects the false folds in some way. Anyone have a clue?

I've had a slight cold for about a week, which didn't affect me and my voice coming back to health from what I think was a self-inflicted malady. That is, I have been doing some exercises (sirens, lip bubbles, and scales) and haven't had a problem, even while having a cold. And singing whole songs. And even going through my set list of songs I normally do.

• 1 month later...

I am no expert on distorsion, far from it. But I can actually find it a bit easier to do distorsion with the false folds with a certain amount of swollenness from a cold. If I have no voice it's no go, but if my throat is just a little bit swollen it feels like the false folds have a shorter way to come together.

I always have to warm up to be able to sing well, be it clean singing or trying out distorsion. I feel I always have to get my voice "into place", about 30 minutes of warm up usually do the trick.

I am no expert on distorsion, far from it. But I can actually find it a bit easier to do distorsion with the false folds with a certain amount of swollenness from a cold. If I have no voice it's no go, but if my throat is just a little bit swollen it feels like the false folds have a shorter way to come together.

I always have to warm up to be able to sing well, be it clean singing or trying out distorsion. I feel I always have to get my voice "into place", about 30 minutes of warm up usually do the trick.