How bad does abuse have to be to cause nodules?

Rate this topic

eggplantbren

I know there's probably a lot of individual variation, but I'm curious as to how bad vocal abuse or poor technique has to be, and for how long, to cause nodules. The reasons I ask are curiosity, and the fact that I've been singing regularly with fairly poor technique for about 3 years.

I've never lost my voice, and at worst, after a bad session, it feels a little used and like I should stop. But it never really "hurts". And recently I've found that in the middle part of my range the tones sound dirty like there's mucus or something. This happens on the same notes that I usually have trouble with (around E4) so it could equally well be poor technique.

What do you think? Am I being paranoid for worrying about this?

Well at E4 you are suppose to bridge into your head voice. If your struggling and trying to pull those notes from your chest voice that would explain part of your problem. I know that I created about 20 years of bad habits and pushed my voice hard and I did not create nodules on my vocal folds/chords.

I think your problem may be more of a training issue than a physical issue. But I am not a expect so what do I know lol.

eggplantbren,

A rule of thump is to not sing when you are hoarse. 95% of the singers who get hoarse are because of constrictions around the vocal folds which prevents them from vibrating freely. If you keep singing whit those constrictions you'll "rub" the vocal folds together much harder than normal, and that will create edema which can lead to polyps (like a blister). And if you continue you'll most likely develop nodules (calluses). It's one of the bodys reaction to mechanical stress.

What's the definition of hoarseness? I'm not sure I've ever really experienced anything more than mild hoarseness, where it takes just a little more effort to speak. But this has only happened once or twice.