Being “Ready” As a Singer While Still Not Believing It

Rate this topic

Manolito Mystiq

Guys and gals, could you please help me out?

It’s been over ten years that I have studied a lot of different singing methods and systems. Currently I’m studying musicology at the Utrecht University and still I’m really wanting to understand it all. I have a library of singing books in my home, right now. I have this craving for wanting to complete programs, to get certificats (SLS, SS, CVT, EVT, TVS, and the recent Universal Voice System by Alberto ter Doest).

However, when I perform at the university or at those singing courses, I usually get positive comments, that I have so much control over my voice. Yes it does need work here and there, but I might as well just perform and perform and learn from that, because I really know my voice well enough.

I still feel my tone is odd and my English accent—for which I even study an English minor at the University—is still strange. And I hear a lot of peculiarities I want to change, but it might just be part of me. I’ve been transcribing some Dream Theater pieces (because of inaccuracies with the vocal lines on the official sheet music), and LaBrie is constantly preparing the singing pitch by starting a passing tone lower; it can be very distracting if you really look for it, or just part of his style if you accept it.

I think I should just plan to post a song here, one every week. Or create a video how I sing in my whistle voice and exercises I did to improve it.

Do you have any suggestions? I feel like I have wasted my talents by trying to find the key to finally start singing for so long, even though it appears I had it in possession for more than a while now.

Cheers,

Mano