Stage Fright / Performance Anxiety

Rate this topic

pm3331

Hello everybody,  My name is Paul.  This is my first post.  I’m sure this has been discussed many times already..  I have been working as a singer/guitarist for approximately 15 years both in bands and more recently as a solo acoustic performer.  I have always perceived myself as an average singer, but a far better guitarist.  Lately I have come to the point where I am no longer having fun performing like I used to.  I feel like the lack of confidence in my voice is holding me back from reaching the next level.  I am hesitant to accept or pursue higher end gigs in fear of rejection, and end up sticking to the same set of venues that I have been playing for years.  I generally perform 3 or 4 nights a week, usually 3 hour gigs.  I went to a vocal coach 2 years ago and may have benefited from some breathing exercises, but I stopped going because I felt like I was not improving.  My pitch has never been a problem, especially since I started playing solo and can hear myself much better.  However, if I am having an off night, I tend to tighten up and I am unable to hold notes and my pitch can become erratic.  This is extremely frustrating, because I am aware if I hit a bad note and it sends me spiraling into a negative mindset.  Often my shows are an emotional rollercoaster.  I have developed a lot of bad habits over the years and it has become overwhelming to adjust.  My wife has suggested that I try a public speaking course to help ease my nerves..  I have also considered self-help strategies to promote confidence and positive thinking.  I am tired of being my own worst critic and defeating myself by dwelling on the negative parts of my performances.  Any suggestions to help battle this would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks!!