Going beyond only practicing and actually performing

Rate this topic

L_Holmes

I first started singing in choir class in 8th grade, and I continued doing group choir throughout high school. I also occasionally did solos for choir or at church. But ever since I graduated high school, I have only performed once at a small recital for a singing class I was in, and even that was close to two years ago. I really enjoy performing, but for these past few years I've just been hyperfocused on technique.

Originally my line of thinking was, "I'll start performing seriously when I'm good enough," or, "when I get the opportunity". But lately I've been thinking, I'm just screwing myself over. If this is what I really want to do (which it is) I need to start doing it now instead of waiting for things to just magically happen.

The reason I came here is because I wanted to ask for suggestions on how to practice performance skills and find opportunities to perform for people, rather than just singing random phrases of songs and doing exercises in my car all the time. I've thought about making and recording covers of songs I like. I feel like it would be much more rewarding than just simply practicing all the time, and I could also post things I've recorded on here and get feedback. I'm just not sure where to start with it. I don't have any real recording equipment except for my phone, and though I have started playing guitar recently I'm not good at it yet.

But basically what I'm getting at is, I want to start doing something more with my singing now. I'm just not really sure what would be the best option for me at this point. Any advice would be appreciated.

What genre do you like to perform?  Find a band in town looking for a lead singer and audition for the spot. If you and the band are a good fit, practice, practice, practice and start gigging.  This for sure will help you hone your chops and fulfill your performing need. Have fun with it.

Steve