Recommended songs and analysis?

Rate this topic

JonJon

Hi all, new guy here. Playing lead gtr for about 28 years but only now trying to learn to sing properly. Just starting on the Four Pillars. Im trying to give myself some goals to work towards as I start working on my singing. So here are a few questions I have on choosing songs to aspire to:

1) Should we have a list of songs we want to learn to sing (a dumb question I know)

2) Is there a recommended list of songs anywhere on this forum for newbs to work on etc?

I think it would be a cool thing to make a list of songs in the different genres. Then those songs could be analysed and maybe categorized as far as range, style, belting, head voice, bridging, overall difficulty levels etc.

Im aspiring to the sort of Zep/Whitesnake/BlueMurder/Badlands style and I realize there is a wide variety of range and difficulty levels there. I might try to analyze some of the songs myself but since im a newb id probably miss the important points lol.

In general should a newb start trying to conquer songs well within his reach or try to look ahead a bit to songs that are slightly outside his current abilities?

Thanks for any feedback and ideas, JonJon

I think any person, newb or not, should set goals. It's okay to set high goals. And to set shorter, more doable intermediate goals in the long run.