Spit!!

Rate this topic

sarahireland001

I have a student who suffers with producing too much saliva when she is singing. This causes her to struggle to fit in a swallow and a breath even in warmups. I am studying to be a singing teacher at the moment and have only had a couple of lessons with her so we're both still learning!

I wondered if anyone here has a similar issue and any suggestions on how to help her! It's confused me already!! :/

Thanks

Sounds like mild acid reflux or excessive use of flourides.

Saliva is basic, and if acid goes up (even tiny amounts), the body reacts by sending saliva down. This is good--just have to swallow a lot though, and sounds a bit muffled. Alternatively try proton inhibitors. If student drinks acid producing items prior to singing, e.g. tomatoe juice, orange juice, a large meal--these can also cause.

It's very easy to determine if it's acid reflux-- just try proton inhibitors for a couple of weeks, and see if it solves the problem.

Excessive flouride use, e.g. mouthwashes and gels, can cause excessive saliva. It's possible to counteract some of this by using these products at certain times of the day.

Excess saliva can be from nerves, as well as from acid reflux.. There might be some other medical cause -- has student asked her doctor about it? We singing teachers like to be helpful & guess, but we should not be diagnosing. A thorough review of student's medical history might bring to light some other causes -- related to jaw, endocrine issues, or ???

Also -- one CANNOT try proton pump inhibitors for 2 weeks with any benefit! Often these medications take 1-2 months to BEGIN to impact vocal cords, and for diagnostic purposes a 6-8 month trial is recommended by the MDs with whom I've worked, including some who are international experts on reflux & voice.

• 2 months later...

A question was asked that a singing student has excessive saliva that interrupts her singing. How can this be solved?