How to help a singer as an instrumentalist?

Rate this topic

DeadAim

Hey guys, sorry if the title is a bit misleading but I couldn't think of a better way to phrase it.

Long story short I am a bass/classic guitar player and my girlfriend is a singer who is currently in a singing competition. She is a purely self taught singer but has (to my ears) really nice timbre and has a contralto singing range, however since I've been playing instruments for a while and played in a lot of cover bands I have a developed a fairly decent musical ear and can hear when instruments/voices are out of tune.

She had a tough round right now and her singing was pretty pitchy at lots of parts throughout the song, this isn't exactly new, first time I ever heard her sing she had moments of brilliance and other moments where things just didn't sound clean to me or slightly off, and I know if she could clean up her singing she would be much much better and have a good shot at making it far in this contest.

Where we currently live there are literally 0 singing coaches/teachers and I would really like to help her improve her intonation at the very least, is there anyway as a musician who has close to 0 experience at singing I can help aside from just being supportive or blurting out things like "that didn't sound right"?

Hey DeadAim,

There are a TON of things she can do about this challenge, only a couple of things you can do about it. Your real dilemma is more of an issue of your rapport with her as a singer and a friend. It's great that you are trying to do this carefully by inquiring in this forum. If you really believe in her voice, there are remedies. It's so easy to unintentionally offend in this scenario that you will need some effective tools for avoiding that result. 

- there's some good ideas out there about how to go about engaging in this discussion with your lead singer.