Sign in to follow this  
Janice Yap

How to compress vocals on LogicPro and/or GarageBand?

Rate this topic

Hi Everyone! 

When recording a powerful voice on LogicPro and/or GarageBand, what sort of compressors or settings in the compressor should we tweak so that the output of the voice is limited and will not explode into the red volume zone, without losing the volume on the softer singing parts?

I understand logically that singing further away from the mic when singing loudly often does the job, but I've seen producers slap on a compressor of some sort that prevents the voice from "exploding" (and sounding distorted) without the singer having to pull themselves away from the mic - anyone know how to do this? Please share smile.png 

Scroll through the presets a bit, to see if anything sounds good. Otherwise, it can get very complicated. I've been a mixing and mastering engineer for more years than I like to admit, and compression on vocals is still a difficult concept to describe.

The main/basic idea: You want enough of a ratio to even out the vocals without it sounding odd. That ratio can be relatively high for vocals, this is the main part of compresssion. I often end up between an 8:1 and 9.5:1, and handle extreme volume changes with an automated volume control. Then set the threshhold low enough to capture the softest sounds but not background noise. I usually set threshold to -30 when recording, but much higher in a mix down). At this point, output gain may need to be lowered a bit to keep it from clipping.

Knee should be round enough to not sound robotic, crank it if you're not sure. Attack will likely be low for vocals so that you'll still catch sibilance, perhaps even as low as 2. Release depends on how fast or drawn out you're singing, but 30 to 40 is a safe bet.

A limiter set to -1 threshold will help even more, but only after you have the compressor under a pretty well balanced control.

Great question Janice.