Is phlegm okay?

Rate this topic

axd218

Is phlegm build up normal when singing? When i throat gets phlegmy, i access my full voice easier and high notes dont feel strained anymore. Only downside is that it makes my voice a bit rattly and on high notes its hard to keep them "clean". High notes arent strained but the phlegm kind of muffles the sound, otherwise i like the rattly feel and sound because it gives it a kind of "rock" edge.

Ive been smoking for 4 years and suffer from chronic post nasal drip if that helps.

Hey axd218,

Draven's video is all excellent advice. Only thing I would add is: eliminate or drastically reduce ALL dairy from your lifestyle. Dairy is a major producer of mucous, Major!  I'm a dairy lover so I know how hard it is to abstain from it, but if you like to consume dairy as much as I do, eliminating it will prove to you just how much less gunk your body will produce in reaction to it.  Humans are not built to eat/drink dairy. AND, Phlegm will screw up vocal effects, especially distortion! AND, men who eliminate/reduce dairy are at a lower risk for prostate cancer.

haha thats gonna be hard for me to do. if anything, i should quit smoking to cut back on phlegm, but atm it hasnt been a huge hindrance to my singing. one question, am i relying too much on phlegm to access higher notes? ill get a video up tmw after work, but my problem is that, at the start of the song, i'll hit high notes w relative ease. then somewhere halfway, i end up losing my technique and tone and i lose that gritty and deep quality of my voice. my "belt voice" ends up feeling too heady. any tips or techniques i can use to "check" myself throughout the song?

edit: ive recorded a quick clip. anyway i can post it w/o uploading on yt? im a bit self-conscious when it comes to singing in front of a camera, thx

On 01/04/2018 at 7:53 PM, axd218 said:

am i relying too much on phlegm to access higher notes?