I could use your advice on this song ....

Rate this topic

sjs94704

Hi, ALL!

My name is Steven and I am from Berkeley, California USA and I am an amateur singer.  I have my own home recording studio. I use Reaper as my recording software. I download my background music and then I sing to it and have lots of fun doing all kinds of cool stuff with it!

I am currently recording music in the style of Karen Souza.  I am a Baritone, so I have to make a few adjustments to the original song which can get a little too high notes for me and sound like ....... Yuck!

Here is the song 'Every Breath You Take'  I have highlighted the phrases that seem too high to be comfortable for me and so I would like to make a smooth transition downward in notes vs. upwards as the original goes, but, I would just like it to be smooth and to begin going down in the right place. I don't want to break from the original tune too much, but, I could use some suggestions of what to do here so that as I sing the song as a Baritone that it sounds smooth as if it was meant to be that way!

See below ......

Every breath you take
Every move you make
Every bond you break
Every step you take
Ill be watching you

Every single day
Every word you say
Every game you play
Every night you stay
Ill be watching you

Oh, cant you see
You belong to me
How my poor heart aches
With every step you take

Every move you make
Every vow you break
Every smile you fake
Every claim you stake
Ill be watching you

Since youve gone I been
lost without a trace
I dream at night I can
only see your face
I look around but its you I cant replace
I feel so cold and I
long for your embrace
I keep crying baby, baby, please...

(Break)

Oh, cant you see
You belong to me
How my poor heart aches
With every breath you take

Every move you make
Every vow you break
Every smile you fake
Every claim you stake
Ill be watching you

Every smile you fake
Every claim you stake  (sing 4 times)
Ill be watching you