here is a podcast put together asking questions, and demoing

Rate this topic

rich2k4

i'm new to recording audio like this for please excuse the pauses and staggered robotic talking, i'm not used to it.

i feel this is a better way to ask questions rather then typing it out. as it's hard to get the meaning of things through text sometimes. especially when it comes to vocal techniques.

http://www.box.net/shared/iv1r7a2ocg

Good questions, Rich. If I get a chance, I will record a response. I think we go for the original key of a song because it inspired us and we are trying to match the initial conditions of that inspiration. I have raised the key of a song that was too low for me. "Peace, Love, and Understanding" was in the key of G and I raised it to the key of A.

And certainly, for some, it is a mark of achievement to sing a song in the original key or range. And, a number of times, what I have done, if a particular part was tricky or in the middle of a passaggio, I have re-arranged the vocal melody, often going higher, which was easier for me. In the words of Geoff Tate, I don't even go there. In that case, I certainly celebrate the individuality of voices.