Range restriction / constriction / change keys?

SH

Hello all. I'm a newbie.

Been having voice lessons for nearly a year, after a 10 year break. Developing a natural feel for jazz - it seems to be my home.

So, my trouble is basically tension / constriction in the throat resulting in restricted range, and sometimes even pain / raspy feeling etc. My voice teacher can often coach me through a hard spot, but I wonder if I am causing this problem by choosing music which is not within my natural range. Perhaps I should just aim for a lower key, perhaps I am not really meant to belt on a C5? I can sing E4 without any trouble, and in a lip roll excersise I can manage a tone less than a three octave range. But, actually singing, I am much more restricted, not even managing a strong two octaves. I think I cause alot of emotional stress which causes this problem, and I just wonder - is it cheating to just change the key so that I can manage the song more easily? Am I less of a singer if I do this? Perhaps trying to sing Big Spender in C minor is just setting myself up for failure, for stress which causes tension. How do I know if I am trying to extend myself unwisely? That may all seem pretty confused. I am pretty confused at the moment.

Edited to add: I am a female singer! (in case you were thinking C5 is pretty impressive)

When I first started singing I wouldn't have believed I would reach the notes I can right now. I'm still not good though and I'm still working on increasing my range. I'd say practice songs in lower comfortable keys but also work on increasing your range by doing exercises and learning about your voice. The CVT book taught me how to breath and support properly which made me constrict much less.