Dry mouth during performances

Rate this topic

Alright, so I am more of a classical vocalist. I'm a vocal student and I just had a vocal recital last night. My mouth was very dry and It was very difficult to "wet my whistle." Does anyone have any suggestions as to how to help with a dry mouth right before a performance?

showtunesongbird:

Dry mouth for a performance is a very common occurrence in singers. It occurs for a specific reason, and there are lots of things you can do about it.

Dry mouth is a physiologic reaction to adrenaline. As you begin anticipating the performance, adrenaline begins to be released in your system to get you ready to do the thing you are about to do., just like you were going into a competitive race, responding to danger, etc.

Of the things you can do, the more important (IMO) is to understand that this excitement is perfectly natural. If it does not happen, then the performance will be emotionally flat. Many performers and athletes call this rush of adrenaline 'the pump', and not only expect it, but have adopted certain mental disciplines (ways of thinking about it) to cope. QUite often, they could call this 'getting psyched' for the game or the performance.

'Getting psyched' is simply a euphemism for getting to that place in your imagination and thought process so that you can ride the energy and excitement rather than let it defeat you. Its best not to hold it in, but to release it. For me, that comes down to acknowledging that I am getting excited, not that I am getting nervous. Its the same energy, viewed from either the positive (excited) or negative (nervous) side. For myself, and for those I coach, I think the 'I am getting excited' expression is more useful, and actually say it out loud as an affirmation. I recommend that the next time you are prepping for a performance that you _say_ 'I am getting excited'. When you greet your accompanist, tell them 'I am very excited to be doing this with you today'.