Estill/EVTS

Rate this topic

tenor19

Hello...

I'm new here--joined yesterday--and so far I've browsed a lot and am really glad I found this resource.

I'm just beginning my masters degree in vocal pedagogy and I know one day I'll have a terrific contribution to the world of singing, but for now I'm acquiring my knowledge and cultivating my craft as a teacher and pedagogue.

Currently I'm working on a paper on EVTS/Estill's methodology. It isn't a very specific focus yet. There's so little in print and I haven't had the benefit of attending a workshop (yet) so I look to you, my colleagues to help with any advice or opinions on the method. There's such a vast difference of opinion on EVTS between the UK and the US which I find interesting. Ultimately I hope this paper contributes to my thesis which I predict will be an attempt at reconciling EVTS, SLS, and more classical methods for musical theatre.

If you have any experience with EVTS, think it's brilliant or bogus, or have had success using elements of the technique or just have some pearls of wisdom, please share!

Always,

Jeremy Ryan Mossman

• Administrator

Jeremy, I have some experience with EVTS and actually have in posession an article on EVTS vs SLS that would be of great help to you I suppose.

First of all, I would not view EVTS or SLS as "classical". "Classical" is a genre' of music and you coach genre's, but you teach techniques. Techniques can be applied to multiple genre's. Case in point, although I am a rocker personally and many of my students who are rockers beneft greatly from my techniques, I am not teaching a "rock technique"... I teach a vocal technique that can be applied to any genre', but I am a rock vocal coach. Yes, I have many students that are folk, jazz and theater singers as well. I hope you understand the difference between technique and coaching.