vocal exercise question (for the "pros")

VideoHere

hi folks,

i often wondered when doing our daily vocal exercises, (let's assume we're passed our early staple warmups and are now getting into our routine).

can vocal exercising ever become counterproductive or ineffective due specifically to the sequence or order in which we do them?

Depends on which pro you ask. Singer Ron Keel, who's sang with a number of the big european metal bands was friends with Ronnie James Dio, the maestro, as far as I am concerned. And Dio's advice to him was to not warm up so much. That the voice has just so much endurance and strength in a day.

Juxtapose that with the more screamo baritones of modern heavy metal who swear by having an hour of warm-ups before they scream for an hour or more.

I'm not a pro, I just thought you might like some words from those who sang for a living. Dio's career spanned at least 4 decades. I think he might have had a point or two to offer.

Geoff Tate doesn't warm up extensively at any one time. He does a little head voice in the morning. A smidge of mid-range in the middle of the day. And some light chest voice no sooner than about an hour before show time.

Sebastian Bach warms up no less than an hour before showtime and not truly strenuously, either. You can, in some cases, according to professional singers who have had to sing on tour for most of year, wear your voice out by warming up "too much." But hey, what do they know? They only made a living at it for decades.

Depends on which pro you ask. Singer Ron Keel, who's sang with a number of the big european metal bands was friends with Ronnie James Dio, the maestro, as far as I am concerned. And Dio's advice to him was to not warm up so much. That the voice has just so much endurance and strength in a day.

Juxtapose that with the more screamo baritones of modern heavy metal who swear by having an hour of warm-ups before they scream for an hour or more.