Dream Theater Surrounded cover

• TMV World Legacy Member

Hi,

First of all, I am not a singer by itself, I am just a guitarist who tries to sing :D.

Here is my attempt of DT cover called Surrounded. I play guitars and I also sing on it.

Very hard tune !!

Voices and Guitars recorded with my 11Rack. The mic I used is a AKG D5

Cheers

Dje

Hey dje,

Wow, you really are quite a good guitarist, aren't you? I really liked the song, actually, loved the intro, then the guitar solo, sounds great. Vocally, I couldn't really hear that much (I listened to the first 2 1/2 minutes). The mix had your voice fairly quiet over the guitars, which is perhaps how the song is meant to be, I wouldn't know. I'd be interested in hearing your voice more clearly. I'm wondering also, with guitar skills like that, why start singing? Do you intend to play and sing while performing? Is this a piece you are trying to brush up for performance, or is this just a learning experience? Did you sing and play this at the same time? What I can hear sounds good.

Hi

Thanks for your kind words about my guitar playing.

About singing it is a new challenge for me and this song is only fo the moment a training song. I did not sing while playing guitar. Not yet... The passages in 9/4 are quite hard to do...

Cheers

Hello, djemass!

First i must say you are a great guitar player. In your highest notes you push too much and twang a little too much sometimes i think. What you need to work more on is your support and slightly decrease your twang to get Labries tone in your upper range. Take this advice with a grain of salt because i am no vocal expert but since there are not so many answers for you i thought i would give u my opinion. Hopefully someone with more experience and more rep. points will chime in.

But overall, a good vocal performance.