Question about Head Voice and its development

Rate this topic

JohnGalt

Hello everyone! This is my first time posting on the forums, so here goes nothing! I have recently seen the video posted by Mr. Lunte on the topic of twang, and have become interested in developing the head voice to be able to sing such high notes, but after reading some of the posts on here and other forums, I am uncertain whether or not I am even singing head voice or if I am using falsetto. I have uploaded two sound files to my purevolume account as reference for anyone who happens to read this question. The second one is me singing in what I think is head voice, but what I am curious about is why it sounds (and especially feels) so different when I sing op vowels. When I start from E4 and F4, I sing the sounds OOH and EE, respectively, I can feel a sort of tension/vibration in my skull, but when I sing AH starting from F#4, not only does it sound weak, but I also lose that feeling of "resonance". Does this mean that my voice is simply too weak on that vowel and that I have to train it?

Also, I posted another file in which I sing a chorus in what I think is head voice for the first two lines, and then sing in a somewhat different voice for the next two lines. When I sing in that second voice, it feel different, as though my throat is working in a different way, and it feels somewhat more coordinated. Does anyone have any idea what "mode" that might be, if that is the correct term? Is it possible to strengthen one of those two (or both) voices to develop a "chesty" sounding voice in that range? Thank you in advance for your responses, and I apologize for my horrible voice :P!

Here is the link:

http://www.purevolume.com/JohnGalt81922

• Replies 353
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic