Am I Headed Down the Wrong Path ??

Rate this topic

blackeyed28

hello everyone,

i've been studying SS/SLS for a couple of months and i've already ordered Pillars, ...which should arrive any day.

my question is this: i don't think i'm achieving very good cord closure when bridging to head voice (daily scales of lip rolls, nay, mum, no - as on the SS CDs 3 thru 5). i feel like i'm making progress in bridging, ..but is this a waste of time if my cords aren't getting good closure ?? should i stop and focus on a correct head voice ?? or should i press on with these scales and closure will happen over time ?? i just don't want to be working hard every day, ..and yet doing it wrong.

note: when i say i'm making progress, ...for weeks i would "flip" into falsetto, ..even on lip rolls. i feel like i've smoothed it out a lot. if i'm flipping into falsetto, ...i've somehow made it much less obvious, ..but yet my headvoice tone is weak and falsetto-ish.

any help is appreciated. it's frustrating to not know if i'm doing it correctly.

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi: I too bought SS and studied it for about 4 months. I did those nays and mums OVER AND OVER AND OVER - got a little better but then got stuck. my upper range never got stronger no matter how many times i did the exercises and i also started getting some hoarseness. deciding i needed to try a different tact, i started taking lessons w/ Robert Lunte and got the pillars program. it's been about a month and a half now since i started this program and my upper register is SO MUCH stronger with no hoarseness. so WEIRD but i'm happy about that. don't get me wrong, i still have a LONG WAY TO GO but i'm much happier with the progress now than what i had w/ SS. the in-person lessons have also helped as i have a feeling i'm not very good at teaching myself this stuff.