Question about Sirens

Rate this topic

jjm41031

I have a question about doing sirens when vocalizing. I am a beginner that can do up to a male G# before it starts to feel unstable. I can hold it out as long as necessary.

My question is this. How do you progress further up the scale? There are numerous other exercises like Lip Bubbles and Falsetto Slides that I am using to increase range and transcend into a fuller voice up the scale. But how do I get further up the scale using a siren? It is so powerful that I would have to go into head voice which isnt as resonant as the chest right now. Should I do that or should I just stay on the G# for awhile and gradually go up a note in chest over time?

Just trying to get clarification on how sirens are generally used in practice.

Thanks for any support and I appreciate all the great information on this forum.

-- Joe

G# sounds about right. thats where a lot of male singers will start to enter head voice (going from chest to mix/middle to head voice) its exactly where i enter head :)

if you can get up to the G# in a powerful, full voice it could mean about three things: you are have done this by pulling up chest voice/ you have done this with a belt voice/ you have done this with a mixed voice.

the 1st one is bad and you would have to stop what your doing and reassess how to get to where you are. the other two are fine and there are some things you can try to see if it helps you get into a head voice better. it should be pointed out that head voice will never feel as "resonant" as chest voice in terms of the sympathetic vibrations you feel. this doesnt mean that you cant have a full sounding head voice it just means although the sound may not feel massively "resonant" to you in your head, the outside world will hear a very resonant, full sound. also it can take time to coordinate head voice properly so dont sweat it if you cant make a full head voice sound very quickly. if it was easy everybody would be doing it :)