In for a penny, in for a pound

• TMV World Legacy Member

I've only just joined TMV and this forum, to help me develop my singing. So far I'm self taught, with the only external help being some of Kevin Richards youtube videos.

I'm keen to improve - I create music as a hobby, but currently mostly just my guitar playing!

So.. I thought why not try with a challenge, here's my take on "Heaven On Their Minds" from "Jesus Christ Superstar".

[sEE UPDATED VERSION IN LOWER POST]

I've listened to many artists singing this: Carl Anderson, Murray Head, Jan Dulles, Zubin Varla, Patrik Martinsson. I'd love to work on my singing and get this good enough to keep company with those guys.

So.. any constructive critism is welcome. I'm not happy with it in a few ways myself, but I thought I'd see you all say before I own up to my own misgivings.

This was recorded in two takes. I added a touch of a touch of compression and reverb in the mix, but no auto tuning or EQ. I faded my vocal track out at the end to match the backing I've got.

So.. what should I work on? (other than just 'everything') ... and how. I only have a thin understanding of vocal technical terminology, but I can use google just fine.

George

George can often be found playing electric stringy things, and singing... [url=https://soundcloud.com/george-williams-8]and then this happens[/url]

Dude, I was singing the entire opera, every part, back in the 90's. I would have to go low and slow to "fake" Caiaphas. I didn't hear anything wrong with this, To be butt-naked honest, I was singing along with you. And that, from me, is a compliment. I wasn't thinking about any technique or minutae or any other BS consideration. I was enjoying the performance. And I am old enough to remember when the movie came out.