Is this falsetto or head voice with bad breath support?

Duchi

Hello!

I've been practising singing for the last 2 months, and yesterday I tried this song from Soundgarden - Beyond the wheel. When I listened to the record my tone did not have the same quality all the time, sometimes it was resonant, sometimes a bit breathy. So I am asking this question, are these high notes that I am singing in a head voice, or falsetto ?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R0N1PcphVCk

The high part starts at 1:10, for example around 1:32 my voice sounds thin.

I am still practising on the intonalities and the pronunciation\vowels :)

I'm not a coach but I have a few comments if I may. Your question is concerning what terminology we use for certain vocal sounds, but I wonder why you're asking the question? Probably, your vocal delivery doesn't sound like you want, and it doesn't feel good to perform.

The fact that it gets harder to sing as the song goes on (and the quality decreases) is an obvious sign that there is vocal strain. You just can't keep this up. I think all singers struggle with this. Sometimes you can't get the sound you want without straining in some way, but that is not sustainable! You'll lose your voice for a couple days or maybe even develop a medical condition such as nodules.

I have to say that there is some good stuff here, that I would be surprised if I could ever do without shredding my voice! However, I think that you can definitely do with some quality voice instruction. There are a lot of good teachers on this forum, and judging from this song, Rob Lunte would probably be perfect for you.

Keep on singing mate.

EDIT: but the answer is, you are singing in "head voice" for the higher part. With a shitload of twang and good support at the start, but I think these two necessary things fade away as you go on.