Soundgarden - Beyond the wheel 2nd try; Chris Cornell - Say hello 2 he

• TMV World Legacy Member

Hello!

A little background - I've been practicing 4-5 days a week for about 1:30 h for the past 2 months.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tk0HvyW9XJc

Okey, so this is the song "Beyond the wheel" 2nd try, I posted another version on this forum couple of days ago and people suggested that I pull chest and strain. Also my breath support sucked. So, on this record I tried to sing the high notes (they start at 1:17 D5 Eb5 F5 are the notes I think) without trying to sound "powerful" as I tried the first time. There is no strain, my voice felt perfectly fine after this. The problem is that i don't like the sound. Should I twang more, to achieve power, or I should keep practising and this powerful sound will come natural? Or maybe Cornell is using effects on his mic, echo or something, I don't know?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uFb8nxbmpNY

So there is this other song "Say hello to heaven" that I tried. Messed up the chords on the guitar once or twice, sorry about that :)

The parts 1:36 - 1:48, 3:15 - 3:23, 4:32 - 4:42 give me trouble, the last phrase of the sentence sounds a bit strained, how can I fix this? More breath support? I am also not so happy with the high notes after 5:02.

I will be really thankful if you can listen and point out mistakes and what I do wrong!

• TMV World Legacy Member

2nd try was better. Your voice was more steady. First thing, your appraisal of your sound may change as time goes by. (For one thing, you normally can't hear yourself outside of your own body. Your voice will sound higher to others than it does to you. Secondly, your voice will warm as you get used to the no-strain version and you timbre or sound quality will change just a little. And your own opinion will change, too.)