Hi everyone :) !! Advice for a Newb please ^_^" !!

Rate this topic

Raddy

Hello everyone. I just joined the forum tonite and it's really awesome to see so much good information here from a lot of good people. I am a Blues/Rock Funk Fusion guitarist that really wants to open doors to the music he can express. I don't have a teacher, nor am i a good vocalist in all honesty, But i know some basic warmups and thanks to my guitarist background, have relative pitch to sing out all the scales. Also i should mention i am a Tenor :) !!

I would love if you guys could point me in the right direction to be a better singer and give me tips or useful links that would help me with the process and recommend good beginning songs for a tenor !!

A quick question to an issue i am facing :- My voice is rather soft and sober and is not very powerful to sing the blues with the high intensity of dynamics required -_-" !! While i can sing pretty well at low volumes, it all goes down the drain when trying to be a tad bit more powerful in expressing an idea.

Here are my influences for vocals whom i don't want to copy or be like, but i am influenced heavily and would give you an idea of what i am thinking about when i am thinking blues vocals.

Chaka Khan Rufus - Tell me something Good

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gWcAUxIgXxc

Joe Bonamassa - Blues Deluxe

I could put on a ton here. But i think i'll limit it down because Those 2 express the general idea really well :) !!

I really do appreciate your time taken out to read this. A big thank you to all those who did so !!

Will be posting a quick clip of my voice real quick !!

I'd rather hear what your voice sounds like, anway. I already know what Chaka Khan sounds like.