This BLEW me away..what is this guy doing?

AboveTenor

He's doing exactly the same things that all the other singers are doing who are considered to have good vocal technique. If you want to sing as well as he does, improve your basic vocal technique in terms of tone and power. Put in the time doing vocal exercises for a few years and you'll get better.

But perhaps you were referring to something specific in that clip? Perhaps how he does the rasp? Or the range?

Well I've been working on my voice for several years now. So, I'm not new to any of this except maybe the forum :)

My technique is pretty solid, it's getting the tone I want that is very hard. I think I'm in the same boat as most people on this site are, they have the range and power but they haven't reached the sound they want. Getting to make the head voice sound rich and thick to a point where it's an extension of chest is one of the hardest things I've ever done in my life. I've talked with many tenors at my University who agree with that statement. Especially since I want a clear, low larynx, operatic tone. But like Jaime says there are various degrees of full voice, maybe I want to do something that is not possible with my timbre. Even though my favorite rock vocalist is Perry, one reason that I admire Gramm, DeYoung, and Mercury so much is that it's like they're speaking in the upper register. I can hardly sense any trace of headiness at all. I love that shouty, belty, yelling on pitch sound.

But I wouldn't mind adding a little rasp here and there. Do you have any suggestions Jonpall?

Thanks,

AboveTenor

Well I've been working on my voice for several years now. So, I'm not new to any of this except maybe the forum :)