Total Beginner - constructive criticism wanted

• TMV World Legacy Member

Hi all,

I'm 31 but only just started trying to sing about two months ago.

I've be practicing breathing, scales, keeping larynx down but I'm still having a lot of pitch and tonal problems.

It's hard for me to judge myself objectively as I cringe when I hear myself back so I'd appreciate some constructive input.

What can I do to improve my tone and pitch?

Here's a short clip of where I am today. The timing isn't great either as I'm also playing guitar at the same time. I did that because I just can't get comfortable any other way.

You can probably hear in my voice the lack of confidence. I do have a reasonably pitch accurate ear, and I can really hear my own pitchy-ness, which in turn make me waver even more.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10813900/nutshell.mp3

Any suggestions for improvements, practice tips etc. would be appreciated.

Edit: oh yeah, that's my creaky old computer chair that you can hear in the background!! :D

Thanks.

Not bad - you've got lot's of potential. All you need is a vocal program to follow, or a teacher. If you want to excel there's a lot to learn. It doesn't sound like the breath is right, due to the waivering. You've got to breath in low, and while singing, press down on your diaphram and abs - don't pull up, and don' t breath with your rib cage. Just keep the rib cage energized the whole time - your ribs shouldn't move.

What Geno said.

Plus, it sounded like, to me, you drop breath before the end of the note. That is, your breath pressure starts out okay and then tapers off. Commit the breath all the way through the note or the phrase. And end the note strong by imagining that it will continue even as you stop. This will help prevent a note-crash, or sudden deflection in pitch at the end of a word or phrase.

It will help make the whole thing more legato.

Thanks for your input guys.