Questions regarding breaking out of my typical baritone range

Rate this topic

Shrike123311

Hello everyone. It's a pleasure to see a community of dedicated and beginner musicians alike. I've been looking for a forum like this for a while now.

Now currently, I'm fairly confident I can carry a tune. I know I can sing in tune with at least a decent tone.

I've been playing music for 11 years, but only about a year and a half-ago did I really decide that I want to pursue singing..

So recently I preformed a stage show with a few friends of mine for kicks, but we wanna get bigger and I wanna get better.

I used to have a ton of vocal covers up on youtube, but I deleted them all because I wasn't really getting much feedback for better or for worse.

So my issue comes actually from my influences and the style of music I'm looking into.

My favorite bands are bands like Killswitch Engage, Trivium, All That Remains, Avenged Sevenfold, Periphery, Metallica, System of a down.. just to name a few.

Currently, I can sing almost any Metallica song with a good amount of effort since he has a low, raspy voice. Metallica and Trivium have the easiest material for me..

but I want to hit extreme highs, past the tip of my range at G#4. I want to be able to sing high with extreme power like Avenged Sevenfold and Periphery.

A good example of highs and power from Periphery would be:

<- Jetpacks Was Yes!

though his voice has a scratchy tone to it; which I am not particularly interested in getting, he hits some insane high notes with what sounds like very little effort.

But I also want more depth and power to my voice, like the highs in "Tonight The World Dies" by Avenged Sevenfold.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zr9uWRGNqpA <- Tonight The World Dies