A bunch of basic questions

Rate this topic

pj

Hi all, I'm really new to singing and would like to ask you people here a few questions. :P

1. Within a song there are several key changes. How do you guys grasp the "feel" of the key and and make sure that how you're singing is in tune and fits the mood of the key?

2. I realised that I tend to tense my neck and (perhaps) vocal cords when singing. How do you "untense" them? This problem becomes especially evident when I try to sing high notes in my chest voice. Is it really about learning how to tighten your diaphragm and relax your neck muscles? (which brings me to my next question)

3. What do you guys visualize when singing high notes? I learned that you are supposed to tighten your diaphragm and feel the air hitting your soft palette. But do you guys visualize anything? (the "spot" of the note, etc.)

4. Do you guys consciously "activate" the soft palette when singing? Do you guys practise it till it becomes a habit?

5. Is there any good read (be it in the form of internet articles or books) regarding vocal techniques?

Thanks!!!

1. Within a song there are several key changes. How do you guys grasp the "feel" of the key and and make sure that how you're singing is in tune and fits the mood of the key?

I think this just comes down to knowing the key and what notes you should and shouldn't sing. Maybe as someone who plays multiple instruments this is easier for me? It sort of sounds like you're trying to say certain keys should be sung in certain ways, which I don't buy into.

2. I realised that I tend to tense my neck and (perhaps) vocal cords when singing. How do you "untense" them? This problem becomes especially evident when I try to sing high notes in my chest voice. Is it really about learning how to tighten your diaphragm and relax your neck muscles? (which brings me to my next question)