You've Got The Love (Florence + The Machine Cover Version)

• TMV World Legacy Member

http://www.box.com/s/vs0sgp6uxn37dn5bzxhj

So this is You've Got The Love, originally by a band called The Source but a famous cover version is out now by Florence + The Machine.

Anyway looking for help with improving my voice obviously so tell me what I need to work on.

Just me singing over an instrumental track trying to remember the melody on the third love.

You sound a bit like you're on the beginning of the journey which is a familiar sound to me. I remember the feeling, don't worry about it not being quite together yet as it will come.

I'll tell you the absolute beginner tips that worked great for me for me getting out the gate. If I had only continued following these tips and not a lot of 'other' tips, I could likely still have my voice:

1. You know the feeling you get at the very beginning of a yawn? A full yawn would be bad to sing on (too many muscles activate), but just the very beginning stages of relaxation there is good where things open up a tad. Maybe 10 percent of a yawn. Just enough to make you feel loose and opened rather than closed and rigid.

2. You'll hear this a whole lot, but breath support is very important. You're not in any danger with your current sound there, but as you start pushing into more and more sung sounds with more range and such, it will become more and more important. It's kind of hard for people to describe other than you feel it sink pretty deep down into your diaphragm and your shoulders do not raise. You'll eventually learn to meter this air out bit by bit in a more controlled manner.