Joe Elliott

Rate this topic

jonpall

Just for your enjoyment (for those who like Def Leppard), this is a complete live concert and there are links to lots of other newly uploaded live concerts from this link:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x5lydLxXL_E&list=PL5C77E6129F274449&index=51&feature=plpp_video

I hadn't really listened much to Def Leppard, so I didn't realize how good Joe Elliott was. Good control of the high part of the voice and a real rocker's voice.

I totally agree, Jonpall.

And allow me to get on my soapbox and preach a little, as if I have never done that before.

Aside from the purely phenomenal musicianship of this band, from Joe's everlasting voice to the virtuosity if guitarist Phil Collen (spokesman of the group, most often) they are a band. A gang. A brotherhood. Especially as how they stuck with the drummer after he lost his left arm. They could have easily said "we need to get another drummer" and he probably would have agreed with them. But they stuck it out, postponed the tours and spent themselves silly consulting with a mechanical engineer to come up with a drum kit that could be played with 2 feet and 1 arm. And waited, as he had to learn how to drum, all over again.

That is golden, that is rock, and they have endured because they kept the sound, they kept the drummer. Even f they turned out crap, which they never have, they deserve kudos for never leaving a man behind. So to speak, Def Leppard are the SEALs of rock and roll.