Combining 2 methods

Rate this topic

ast92

hey everyone ive been using 4 pillars for like 5 or 6 months now and results r jst amazing i can hit high metal screams so easy nw, first time i can actually know hw to sing in headvoice powerfully. Before using pillars i used ktva for like 2 months nd i stopped it cause my tone changed it became baritonish altho im a tenor and i couldnt sing lightly...my voice was as hard as a rock and belting was much much easier and more powerful.

so i wanna combine both of these methods in my training to be able to sing both lightly nd strongly in any part of my range....u guys think its a good idea? (say yes plz :P)

• Administrator

Hello, that is fine... of course you can combine good ideas from different sources, just make sure that those sources are methods that understand and embrace "bridging & connecting" concepts... that means, they have viable and proven techniques for bridging the registers and building the head resonance to sound big and "boomy". Ken and I have a lot in common in the way we teach and our backgrounds in training, (we are both Maestro David Kyle students), its a good compatibility there. If you try to train TVS with any of the "keep your larynx neutral and balanced" systems, you are going to run into trouble and huge confusion as these systems are totally incompatible with TVS.

However, having said that, I think your best option is to just stick with one program all together, it if is working for you. "The Four Pillars of Singing" 2.0 has everything you need, there really is no need to mix programs, but if you feel compelled to make things more complicated for yourself, practicing ktva with tvs is probably not going to hurt you. If you practice sls or ss with TVS, you'll totally get confused and it will ruin the good solid work you have started on.