Don't You - Darren Criss

Rate this topic

aitcheson

Normally I couldn't care less if people think I can sing or not because, screw them i'm working on it. But the other day someone said that I should be like Neil Young and work more on songwriting cause he 'can't hit a single note'. Now I know they didn't mean it as an insult really but I took it hard. I know i'm a far way from being great but I've been practicing every day for over six months (yes I know compared to a lot of people that's just starting off) and i'm really dedicated to this. Really I just want to know that im improving and moving towards something better.

Anyway any advice, critique, ect.

I really appreciate all of it and it helps!

Don't You by Darren Criss

http://www.box.com/s/38yxuyy02b0g3ofgl1da

Ok, so the person giving that advice is likely not a singer, nor educated about singing, or how far you can go with training and determination. However, there is a kernel of truth there, even if it wasn't intended this way and I think you should take this to heart. There are a lot of really 'nice sounding pizazz' kinds of voices that don't really go anywhere. There are thousands of operatically trained singers that go nowhere commercially, even on American Idol a lot of the top 12 are quickly forgotten about with voices that are more skilled than Neil Young's, hell even some of the winners kind of skid out when it comes to the real world. Many technically skilled singers (most notes, fastest notes, thickest tones, whatever) are working day jobs, or working as singing coaches, or working part time, you haven't heard them.