Newbie looking for advice where to start - warning, Country Music

I have three songs that I've recorded in the past several months.

This is the type of music I'd like to learn to sing.

This first is a Conway Twitty cover of We're So Close

http://soundcloud.com/bobmoore-2/were-so-close It's in the key of C, with no capo, almost totally open chords.

The 2nd is Travis Tritt's Anymore

http://soundcloud.com/bobmoore-2/anymore It's with a capo on the 4th fret playing key of G chords.

And finally Hank Williams Jr's version of Tuesday's Gone - It's in the key of A with mostly open chords.

http://soundcloud.com/bobmoore-2/tuesdays-gone

I'm an absolute beginner at singing. My goal is better pitch and better tone. But don't know where or how to start.

I have made contact with a local singing instructor and with luck will start some lessons in the next couple of months.

Right now, I work on exercises which I'm hoping will both strenghten my voice and help with the pitchiness.

I appreaciate any constructive criticism and advice. I have enough of an ear to know that there are many things lacking, but hope there's something to improve upon.

Thanks in advance for any and all help.

Bob

I think your best one, mostly, is the cover of "Tuesday's Gone." Your voice stayed in tune mostly on that one. It sounds like you're a little unsure of yourself on higher notes, and that leads to detuning. But down in the middle of your range, you seem confident and you know where you are.

So, when you do work with your instructor, I hope you get to start on stuff you already do well. Success breeds success. Then, when you work on the other items you mentioned, you will breed success and confidence there, too.

And, with such a full, low voice as yours, I could also see you doing some Johnny Cash covers. And I bet you could do the song, "Hurt," pretty well, too.

Hi Bob,