For once in my life

Rate this topic

Hi, I'd like some feedback on this one!

This is me singing "For once in my life" by Stevie Wonder. I haven't practiced the song before so this is as "raw" as it gets. My apologies to Mr. Wonder for messing up the lyrics... ;)

Basically, all critique is welcome! Just tell me what i can do to sing better and i'll do it! :)

Also, I'm very interested in the following:

- Am I twanging? Am I nasal? Is my tone ok?

- What am I doing wrong when I'm not hitting those high notes?

- When I do hit them, what am I doing right?

http://www.box.com/s/fbc09272c1d8956890df

Thanks,

Nick

Sounds pretty good to me. Although, I am not sure what you are doing, but you're enunciation seems "funny" .. Like you have a small cotton ball inside your mouth. Maybe you are levereaging your tongue too much, or when you don't need to. I don't know. I'm no pro lol. Do you hear what I hear when tyou listen back?

I thought that was good. Sorry I can't help you with any technical stuff. Someone will, I'm sure. But as a listener I can tell you what I hear. Someone else will tell you how to fix it (or tell me I'm wrong and to shut up!) :D

First I am considering that this is a new song for you. I think once you own it it will be really good, your voice has a nice sound to it.

In a few spots it sounded like you were holding back. Like you hit a ceiling and wouldn't go any further with your voice. This put a slight strain sound into some of the higher parts. Like you sang from the top of your throat or a closed throat sound. I'm not very technical :) This is something I know I do a lot too.

In a lot of spots the phrases sounded chopped and cut short also. This kind of stopped the flow for me. Also maybe because you don't own it yet or maybe because of the phrasing, it kind of felt like you may have been slightly rushed on the timing. Just a little playing catch up. Just a hair. Maybe, I'm not sure.

And of course a couple of pitchy spots.