Newbie Q: tension vs. compression

Rate this topic

keoladonaghy

Aloha all. I've been working with SS for a few months now, feel I'm making good progress but kind of banging my head against the wall with this one. In a Skype lesson I had last month, I learned a bit about getting some compression, something I think both my speaking and singing voice were lacking in the extreme. Learned some exercise, and think I have a bit better idea of the feel and sound when I have some good compression going.

However, sometimes I feel like this is simply more tension in the throat, and get more breaks through the bridge than when I don't consciously try to get some compression in the sound. I also feel like I'm less in control of what's going on and finding the results and sound erratic in terms of tone quality and pitch accuracy.

So the question is - how can I best tell that I'm getting good compression without bringing negative tension into the process? I'm not even sure if I'm stating the issue correctly, but hopefully you'll get the gist of it from my description.

I tend to work out for about an hour a day with occasional days off, and have not had any issues with soreness or tightness after a workout or the next day, so hopefully that's a good sign.

Thanks in advance.

• Administrator

Who did you have your skype lesson with?

What do you mean by "compression"

It sounds like your working with twang configurations in the head voice, but lets be sure first. Can you send us a link of you working out?

Cool that your training.

Mahalo Robert, will record something when I get home tonight.