newbie question: holding notes freely and strongly in my mid register

Rate this topic

adrizzle36

Hello everyone! This is my first post on the forum, but I’ve been visiting it for quite a while now. I started singing about a year ago, just for fun, but I have been quite happy with my improvements so far, which gives me some more motivation to try harder lol. I have been playing piano for like 12 years so I had quite a bit of musical background before I decided to start singing. Over this year and a bit, I have been using the singing success program, various youtube videos, and this forum as resources.

I can comfortably hold notes up to an E above middle C and control dynamics. Recently, I’ve been able to keep a light connection in my head register that is not breathy if I sing quietly and I’m able to control it as well. Since I figured out how to support properly [or I hope I’m doing it properly], I could ‘belt’ comfortably up to the B right below male high C. It sounds alright if I just hit the note, but if I have to hold it, I’ll do it slightly whiny with some tension, but it doesn’t hurt and I can still vibrato it a bit. I probably shouldn’t even be trying that yet, but heres my main question:

I can bring a light, connected head voice down into chest, but in the E to G range I want to develop a more resonant sound that doesn’t sound shouty, but still has a full tone about a mezzo piano - mezzo forte volume. Kind of like how Adam Lambert does Mad World. How would I go about accomplishing this? Is that what singing in the mask is for?