How to (re)start?

Rate this topic

Mithali

Hi guys,

I love singing but I am not good at it and I would like to be..better :) Over the years (I am 27) I developed many bad habits (especially "supporting" with my throat rather than with my diaphragm) as I was singing with guitar and trying to be louder than the guitar.

I gave singing a break but now I have a bit more time, so I am trying again. I am looking for a teacher in Prague... but it is not that easy. We dont have big singers community here so I dont have any contacts or references on teachers and so its hard to find the "right" one.

Anyway my question is... are there any basic exercises I can do on my own until I find someone to help me? Something I cannot do wrong..:( because I feel like even with the easier things I tend to involve those muscles that rises larynx etc. And if I really concentrate on not engaging them my tone is very weak and hard to control... and as I think about all these things I become all stiff :)

I would post an example of me singing but I dont know what should I sing to showcase all problems of my voice and I dont know anymore what is my natural voice as I was trying various techniques. But I can try and record something if it would help and it you tell me what you wanna hear... :)

Thank you,

M.

If you are supporting with your throat versus your diaphragm, your natural voice will sound naturally weak and thin : P. Diaphragm support requires the proper posture, so always sit/stand up straight with your neck straight.

Finding your proper vocal weight is also hard to do so it's a normal occurrence if your voice is all over the map.

things you should check for yourself, make sure your tongue is flexing as you sing.