Flat Tongue

Rate this topic

Kevinh

I found this forum via google and have a question about singing with a flat tongue. The question was somewhat addressed in another thread in this forum but I want to start the discussion again, if that is ok.

I read this article http://www.voiceteacher.com/tongue.html about 3 months ago, which suggests that singing with a flat tongue is damaging to the singer's vocal health as the tongue puts pressure on the vocal cords and the pharynx is filled with the back of the tongue. I haven't studied the voice long enough to know if this is true physiologically. In the article, he specially advocates singing with a tongue that is slightly arched (the opposite of a flat tongue) like speaking ae sound in apple.

Currently, I am studying with a teacher who is teaching me to sing with a tongue flattened technique to create the space in the throat and lowering the larynx. I am a tenor and from what I have experienced so far, flattening the tongue has helped me alot on the high notes of the passagio, especially for the Ab5 which I was unable to sing well until flattening the tongue and sending the jaw slightly back.

So I guess my question is, what is the correct position of the tongue, flat or slightly arched upward?

I read this article http://www.voiceteacher.com/tongue.html about 3 months ago, which suggests that singing with a flat tongue is damaging to the singer's vocal health as the tongue puts pressure on the vocal cords and the pharynx is filled with the back of the tongue. I haven't studied the voice long enough to know if this is true physiologically. In the article, he specially advocates singing with a tongue that is slightly arched (the opposite of a flat tongue) like speaking ae sound in apple.