Warm up and wait?

Rate this topic

abwin

Okay so ive been singing for a few months now and love it. When i first warm up and try sing, it doesn't sound bad but its just overall breathy and there's no power. This has happen quite a lot and it gets really frustrating so i give up and just watch TV for like 20 minutes or so. When i try it again, suddenly my voice has opened and is more powerful and ever, i can hit all the right notes with power and control.

Why does this occur? Is it normal?

Also if i about to do a gig, does that mean i should warm up then wait THEN sing?? So confused.

Thanks for your time :)

Interesting as that happens to me all the time as well.

I'll do a 45-60 min warmup/workout and feel somewhat exhausted for a while, then stay quiet for about 15-20 mins and then everything sounds very crisp and clear, better than during the actual continuous workout.

And yes, I heard multiple times that you should end your warmup about 20-30 mins before going on stage/recording, so I guess it has something to do with that.

Like any sport you warm up/stretch get a sweat going then calm down and let the muscles settle into place. The cords settle and then approximate much easier and closer once they are fully stretched and exercised.:D

This is why during vocalizing you take short breaks and let the muscles calm down from all the stress your putting on them. Then continue. if you are having a rough time on a phrase over and over ,don't keep doing it let it go for a bit because all you are doing by continuing to strain is telling those muscles over and over that they are doing the right thing. muscle memory... you need to do the phrase perfect 100 times not pushed and wrong. So relax and come back to it..:)

I think it's partly a mental trick. By breaking and coming back you reset your mind to a positive state. There must be a physical component to it as well, but I don't know how it works.