Horrible vocal texture/color/resonance?

Rate this topic

BBFilm

Hey ya'll, I've been training myself as a vocalist for about 8 years now, and I absolutely am horrible when it comes to absolutely anything to do with texture, resance, vocal character, accents, ect ect. I'm great when it comes to achieving notes themselves (most any human being across the face of the planet has the ability to at least belt out extremely high notes and extremely low notes no matter how horrible they sound, and everything in between) and I have absolutely no musical problem singing scales and notes in terms of at least hitting the note in solid, non-wobbly, non-off-key manner (as I come from a background of music).

However. I have one of the worst voices possible for absolutely any type of singing, wether opera, rock, acoustic, or anything in between. Even in terms of speaking, all my life, people have made fun of me and have told me I sound "austistic" because my voice is so rounded, off-kilter, and downright goofy. I have absolutely no strength when it comes to vocal resonance or texture, and my voice gets off key the louder it gets. Absolutely every single time I get extremely passionate about a song, try to picture in my head that I'm a good singer, feel confident about the song, and shape my chords and mouth how I expect the singer to do, my actual voice comes out and crashes my feelings down like thunder with how awful it sounds!