Help with a student

Rate this topic

Gina Ellen Vocalist

Hey guys, I was wondering if anyone could help.

I had a new student today that used to sing but during her pregnancy, completely lost her voice for a few months from the gas and air and her voice (and speaking voice) has never been the same since. Being a relatively young and inexperienced teacher I haven't come across this before.

She can keep pitch but her tone is very breathy. Usually I would start with some breathing exercises then move on to some adduction exercises starting with some glottal onsets to get the closure. I just want to make sure that this isn't going to damage anything. I've explained to her that obviously i'm not a doctor and can only do what I think will help.

So my question: has anyone come across this situation before and do you know exactly what has caused the lost voice and what muscles would have been affected?

Did they put a tube down her throat? I know several people where that has been an issue. They put the tube down the throat and screw something up with the chords. One of her chords may not be working as it should. She should probably have it scoped.

Just what I've seen from others over the years.

The voice gets very diffrent during pregnancy, and still is for à while after the pregnancy. I dont think it's serious, i think she should just Wait à while and it Will probably get back to normal

Hey guys, I was wondering if anyone could help.

I had a new student today that used to sing but during her pregnancy, completely lost her voice for a few months from the gas and air and her voice (and speaking voice) has never been the same since. Being a relatively young and inexperienced teacher I haven't come across this before.