Say Yes cover by Elliott Smith

• TMV World Legacy Member

I recorded this track by track, and it took a bit over 3 hours. It was my first time using cubase. I'm still using the crappy 8 dollar mic, but it sounds way better than recording everything in one go, and allows me to fix mess ups, which is nice.

I'm still having trouble with going into some of the higher registers. Timing is also still a bit of an issue, but I think that's because it's my first time singing along with a prerecorded track (I recorded the guitar prior to the vocals).

In full disclosure, I added some EQ to the vocal channel and some very very mild reverb.

What do you think? How is my pitch? And any tips for the mixing/recording side of things? Also, I think I completely botched the second verse, so yeah.

You sound like someone without any vocal training - which is not uncommon, so don't feel bad. Your voice is full of air, I don't hear any support, you waiver in and out of tune a ton. I would suggest, if you are serious about singing, that you get some instruction - a coach, a singing program to follow, read some books.. There is a ton of free stuff on youtube that can help you with some basics to start with, but they will not get you very far.

www.drop-head.com

Also, you aren't singing out, it sounds a bit a bit timid. You need to overcome that to make progress.

George can often be found playing electric stringy things, and singing... [url=https://soundcloud.com/george-williams-8]and then this happens[/url]