Could y'all please comment on my vocal?

Rate this topic

Basically I'd just like your opinions on my vocal: the strengths, the weaknesses etc.

I've always loved to sing. I don't want to be a professional singer, but I still want to improve my voice in every way possible. Here's a clip of me singing the chorus of Don't You Worry Child by Swedish House Mafia:

http://soundcloud.com/nathaniel-bilforth/me-singing-dont-you-worry

It's just that every time I record myself singing, I can't help but feel disappointed when I play it back. It sounds like nothing beyond a "karaoke" voice. Nothing special about it. It's just kind of there...

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I will always continue to practice simply because I just really enjoy it. But what do you think I need to work most on? :)

Hi,

I'm not an vocal expert by any means, so please consider this my personal opinion only.

Did you use any effects on the recording? I don't know if it's just my bad speakers (they _are_ bad) but there seems to be some dark muddy "undertone" ringing at an octave below the main signal, which sounds rather unpleasant to my ears.

For my taste, your voice needs more resonance and edge to it to make it more brilliant and less muddy sounding. It sounds very much out-of-the-mouth-sung to me so your voice seems a bit muffled and not too shiny. Also the intonation on the sustained notes (blue lake) is a bit off so I'd work on that as well. And I think you should focus also on agility, i.e. being able to quickly change between different pitches and intervals.

I found lip roll/trill arpeggio vocalizes over two octaves very effective for building agility, for edge try some squeaky hums using the same scalar pattern.

Again, just my opinion, there are by far more experienced vocalists around this forum that can give you a better assessment.

Hope that helps though!