can't get over nerves when recording

Rate this topic

Carol M

This is driving me crazy! I've been singing for years but a couple years ago started changing my style from all-chest belting to mixed voice. I took lessons and worked pretty hard on transitioning between registers...and I did a lot of home recording to see how it was going. (I've posted a couple things here but it's been awhile.)

But I still cannot get my recording voice up to where it is when I'm just messing around. I can be singing in the car or while working out or whatever and think wow, it's really coming along. Only to freeze up as soon as the recorder is going.

What is up with that? Anyone else have that problem? Does it just take lots more recording or what? I have to limit myself or I rag my voice for weekend band work and lose a bit of range.

Lol CHERISH those moments when you hear yourself sound like shit. When I re-play a recording the more it sucks the more I can IMPROVE the next one. Don't discourage yourself! It's not the amount of recordings that matter, listen to yourself over and over and FEEL what you have to change. It's something you have to work on yourself. How am I supposed to know what you want to sound like?

Believe in yourself... and NAIL that next recording ;)

- JayMC

I agree. Many times I record a song only because I start consistently nailing it while practicing at home or in the car or where ever....maybe even karaoke! But hit that record button and suddenly I'm in another dimension. I forget lyrics, I flip words and say the backwards. Yes, that has happened more than once. I once said instead of "Gee it's good to be back here walking with you my friend" Gee it's back again here walking with you" or something like that. :D