Huge dilemma

Rate this topic

StephanyM

Hey everyone, my name is Stephany and I'm new here! So pretty much let me tell you about my huge dilemma, and hopefully someone can chime in with some advice =)

So the thing is, I am a teacher and work with groups of about 30 loud and excitable teenagers. Also, I sing and really want to become a great singer, though I don't think my technique is good yet, and there lies the problem. I didn't use to have too many issues when singing (I said too many, which means I always had issues), but lately I've been experiencing a lot of discomfort during my teaching, and I feel it has taken its toll on my singing voice.

This started happening at the end of the last school year, but I thought it would improve once I went on vacations for summer. I rested my voice and I thought it would be better once I started teaching again, but it's not. Actually, I feel it's much worse. During vacations, I didn't really do many vocal exercises because I was afraid of overusing my voice while I needed it to rest, and the same holds true now. I am terrified of doing any exercises and risk harming my voice, so I feel I'm stuck here. I cannot do exercises to improve my technique because my voice already feels extremely tired at the end of the day. I obviously cannot rest my voice completely, either.

I did go to an ENT during the summer vacations to make sure I didn't have any nodules or anything, and he said my cords were fine, but he didn't use a laryngoscope (is that's what it's called?) but instead used a dentist mirror and a penlight. So I'm not sure he was actually able to see my cords properly, and when I called to make the appointment I clearly asked them if they had that device to look at the cords and they said they did, but when I went in, it turned out they didn't. Should I trust his professional judgement, or should I go to another ENT and make sure he can see my cords properly this time?