Don't let me down - please critique!

• TMV World Legacy Member

Hello!

I'm new to this forum, and I'm also new to singing. I've been playing bass for a long time, now I would like to learn to sing, but I realize how hard it is. I started to take some lessons, and I'm trying to work hard.

I posted this song... a cover from The Beatles, Don't Let me Down..

I would appreciate to receive comments, critiques to my singing, because I know how hard it will be to become a good singer and I am open to listen to critiques and humbly work hard on my singing.

So please comment!

Thanks everybody :)

http://soundcloud.com/dbass1/dont-let-me-down-the-beatles

That is a great song and I have always wanted to sing it. That and "Oh Darling." But my voice isn't for that I don't think. :) Your version wasn't bad, but it needs work to make it really sing :) This is typical of many new singers posting here. You have the right tone, stay on pitch and have the voice potential but poor technique. It is like someone who can fight very well and in a bar can win every fight he gets into. However if he got into a professional boxing ring he would lose. Why? Technique. His punches would be too wide, his head may be exposed, his footwork poor. There are sort of rules for singing. Singing without them might get you by with some listeners, but it isn't right.

I can hear a pronunciation problem also, that I know is because English isn't your first language. It doesn't matter because it detracts from the song and it makes it airy. For example near the beginning "Nobody ever really loved me." You pronounce ever as hever. That's giving an H sound that shouldn't be there as well as a "breath." Small details like this make a difference. I too am learning all these things so it is very common :)

Good job.