Question regarding range and quality

Rate this topic

RiaJuuuuu10

I'm honestly not sure if this is the right forum but... here it goes:

I've been singing on and off for about 3 years now. When I first started, I could only sing up to high E, and it sounded AWFUL. After realizing I sounded like garbage and I didn't know how to sing, I took vocal lessons for about 3 months, and I learned how to use my diaphragm and sing properly, though stupid me still would force notes I couldn't reach out for about a year and a half. I finally stopped doing that for the most part, but even with forcing notes, I managed to increase my range to about high F# and high B head voice/falsetto. But now I've written a lot of my own stuff, but enough of it requires me to hit G or even A at points(and sound like a solid note, not overly high/falsetto-ish). The thing is I CAN hit G fairly easily if it's connected to another note depending on the song. But I was trying to sing the chorus of Don't Look Back In Anger, and I can hit and hold the note and it sounds somewhat alright(not clean enough, but satisfactory note-wise) but it was forced, and the familiar sore throat feeling hit me again soon after(it was quite a few attempts though, and some other high range songs too).

The thing is, I can hit and hold high F#, but even some songs with F are still hard for me to hit at times, depending whether it's a good or bad day(Pieces by Sum 41 for example). So I guess my main question is, if I can hit these notes and not sound entirely awful now just from singing like a monkey in the past, is there a good chance that I can get my range without falsetto up to high A or at least G with good quality if I start taking legitimate vocal lessons again and actually do range exercises? And in case it matters, I'm 19 years old(but I doubt that does)