How did you learn to sing?

Rate this topic

izzle1989

Hello Everybody,

I have been gone for quite some time now and I can honestly say I miss you guys. As most of you know I'm in college for Vocal performance and I have been very busy. I have been so busy that I have not had time to be as active of a member on the forum like I was initially, but I'm back now! LOL

I have asked this question because I love the psychology of singing just as much as the physiology. I honestly learned to sing by myself and have been self taught up until my first year of college last year. I am doing a deep study on how natural it is for good singing to occur, so I would like everyone's input on how they learned to sing.

These are a few questions for you guys.

What do you focus on when creating sound?

Do you focus on making the sound as beautiful as possible?

Do you focus on making the sound as relaxed as possible?

If you have vibrato has it come naturally for you? Did you have to so something to find it?

Video or audio examples are more than welcome. :) Thanks in advance.

First off, welcome back man!

Here comes my version, for better or worse.

I usually focus on the feeling of the song, at least I try to. Sometimes when I'm working on something technical, I'm thinking about the feelings or sensations from the exercises I've done to be able to sing the song, sometimes it helps sometimes it makes me sound too "robotic".

Very seldom do I think beauty :P I'm not sure if that is a good or a bad thing for me, but the feeling of beauty is not a feeling I often get when listening to music. Unless it's a female singer, and then I very rarely try to cover that song anyway.